Ever given a thought on what happens to online social media accounts when one passes away?
Here is the complete detail about the same. In case, the account holder passes away without making public his login id and password, then retrieving his account information is a tough ask.
However, such social media profiles generally remain active online still. And number of such accounts is fairly large. There are social networks that have policies in place to maintain such accounts.
Facebook’s policy on death is to turn the deceased user’s profile into a memorial, “as a place where people can save and share their memories of those who’ve passed.” Memorializing of a profile involves: the deceased user no longer showing up in the “Suggestions” box on the right-hand side of the homepage, the privacy setting is altered so that only confirmed friends can view the profile and search for it; contact information and status updates are removed; no one is able to log in to the account in the future. Deletion of an account entails the complete removal of the deceased user’s data from the online platform, however Facebook holds the legal right to sustain the user’s credentials for up to 90 days after request of deletion.
In order to memorialize deceased person’s account, a special contact form must be filled out. In this contact form, a proof of death must be provided. Both family members and non-family members are allowed to submit this form.
In case of Twitter the family members of the deceased don’t get access to the user’s account. However, Twitter accepts requests to deactivate the user’s account.
For this one requires to send Twitter deceased person’s username, a copy of their death certificate, a copy of your government-issued ID and a signed statement with a list of additionally required information.
In April 2013, Google announced the creation of the ‘Inactive Account Manager’, which allows users of Google services to set up a process in which ownership and control of inactive accounts is transferred to a delegated user.
Google also allows users to submit a range of requests regarding accounts belonging to deceased users. Google can work with immediate family members and representatives to close online accounts in some cases once a user is known to be deceased, and in certain circumstances may provide content from a deceased user’s account.